In June 1990 the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 1 mandating the establishment of district and campus committees to be involved in decision making. This legislation provided for the election of classroom teachers and campus-based staff representatives. In addition, it established guidelines for including participation by parents and community members of campus committees. The campus committees were charged with the task of setting goals designed to increase student achievement. A year later additional legislation was passed which expanded the roll of these committees to include responsibility for increased student achievement through goal setting, curriculum, budgeting, staffing patterns, and school organization.

The Campus Excellence Committee is made up of 9-15 members with representation from administration, faculty, staff, parents and community members.

The vital role of the Campus Excellence Committee is to ensure the implementation of site-based decision making. The CEC makes important decisions for the campus regarding budget, goal setting, curriculum, staffing patterns, and school organization.

O.C. Taylor Campus Excellence Committee
Principal: Lisa Young
Assistant Principal: Jennifer Putman
Community and Parent Representatives
Kristin McElroy
Liz Payne 
Rakshita Jalandhara
Matt Smith
Ben Stevens  
District Excellence Committee Representatives
Halli Mankins
Kristin McElroy
District Advisory Council Representative 
Jacqui Van Horn
Teacher Representatives 
Leslie Cave
Kimberly McNamara
Julie Lee
Tiffany Dagger
Halli Mankins
Sharon Fiffik
Cristie Morgan
Rhonda Schafer
Cindy Kue
Liz Campbell